Best moments: Mexico vs Dominican Republic in the 2023 Caribbean Series (5-4) | 02/02/2023

Thank you for reading this post, don't forget to subscribe!
The Caribbean Series is a baseball competition that has been played in Latin America since 1949, being one of the largest competitions in the American continent that brings together all the disciplines of this sport. The tournament is also called the Caribbean World Series and is held in different countries, once the main leagues on the continent have finished, such as the United States MLB.

The first edition of the tournament was played in 1949 in Havana, Cuba. The hosts prevailed and were proclaimed champions. Among the biggest winners is Tigres del Licey, from the Dominican Republic, with 10 titles, followed by another from the Dominican Republic, Águilas Cibaeñas, with six trophies to his credit.

Among the biggest winners by country, the Dominican Republic remains, there have been 21 titles, including, 2020 and 2021. It is followed by Puerto Rico, which has 16. Mexico has nine. Cuba has eight, Venezuela seven, Panama and Colombia complete the list with two and one title each, respectively.

In the last edition of the tournament, the Dominican Republic won another title, beating Santo Domingo 5-2 in the final. The Caribbean Series is played every year and in 2023 it will be held in Venezuela from February 2 to 10 of the same month. The representatives of each country are:

Cowboys from Montería, from Colombia

Los Mochis, Mexico

Federales of Chiriquí (Panama)

Indians of Mayaguez, Puerto Rico

Tigres del Licey (Dominican Republic)

Lions of Caracas of Venezuela

Farmers (Las Tunas and Granma), Cuba

WildCats KJ74, from Curaçao

Each representative was champion of their respective country. The tournament brings together representatives from each nation, who represent their countries. The league is played with a simple regulation: each team faces the other once. The four teams with the best record went to the semifinals (1st x 4th and 2nd x 3rd). The two losers met in the match for 3rd place and the two winners met in the final to decide the tournament champion.

Photo: Disclosure/MLB


Related Articles

Back to top button