Belgian Grand Prix starting grid after multiple penalties; Czech P2 and Verstappen P15

Thank you for reading this post, don't forget to subscribe!

After multiple penalties to drivers for various situations, this is how it will start in SPA-Francorchamps, venue of the Belgian GP

Seven drivers were sanctioned for the change in different components of their respective cars, so after qualifying for the Belgian Grand Prix the starting grid will have some surprises in the first starting lines.

Max Verstappen (Red Bull) Lando Norris (McLaren), Valtteri Bottas (Alfa Romeo)they will start from the bottom because they will have new internal combustion engine, turbochargers and MGU-H’s.

Max Verstappen beside charles leclerc they will also use new MGU-K’s and batteries. Obviously, they all penalize because their Power Unit items are already out of those regulated for the whole year.

Mick Schumacher (Haas) Y Esteban Ocon (Alpine) they will have all the elements of the new Power Unit. Also, Charles Leclerc, Valtteri Bottas, Mick Schumacher Y Max VerstappenThey will also make changes to its gearbox, another mechanical element of the car that is also limited to a maximum number for the entire year.

The Chinese Guanyu Zhou was the last driver to be penalized and although he made the same changes as Leclerc, the driver of Alfa Romeo he did not penalize for the escape, but he did for the remaining elements; Being the first time they have been replaced, there are ten seats per element and for this reason it was still at the bottom of the grid.

It makes sense that teams decided to penalize Spa Francorchamps, a long, high-speed track that allows overtaking. It makes a lot of sense in the case of Max Verstappenwho arrives at Belgium with an 80-point advantage over charles leclerc and 85 on Czech Perez. In this way, RB assures its defending champion the necessary mechanics to finish the race, safely in the points and minimize the danger of not finishing the race – although mechanical failures should never be ruled out, as well as accidents.

Given this situation, the starting grid for Sunday will be as follows:

  1. Carlos Sainz

  2. Sergio Perez

  3. Fernando Alonso

  4. Lewis Hamilton

  5. George Russell

  6. Alex Alban

  7. Daniel Ricciardo

  8. Pierre Gasley

  9. Lance Stroll

  10. Sebastian Vettel

  11. Nicholas Latifi

  12. Kevin Magnussen

  13. yuki tsunoda

  14. Valtteri Bottas

  15. Max Verstappen

  16. charles leclerc

  17. Stephen Ocon

  18. lando norris

  19. Zhou Guangyu

  20. Mike Schumacher